Lessons and Limes 

I spent half an hour squeezing limes the other day. No specific project going on, it’s just that for the cost of four limes at a regular grocery store, I can get a million from Costco. So obviously, my usual practice is to buy a million, use half a million, and then throw the rest of them away because they get moldy. Not this time! I grabbed life by the horns and got all of them squeezed and frozen in ice cube trays before they went rancid. Take that, Universe.

But for some reason, I felt like I was wasting time while I was doing it. I kept thinking of all the other “more productive” things I could have been doing, while instead I was spending precious moments on saving an equivalent of $3 from going into the garbage. It seemed like such a mindless and tedious task that I should have been multitasking with something else simultaneously; but the more I thought about it, the more I realized that these kinds of “chores” have merit.

Not only am I saving a couple dollars, but I’m also doing my bit to reduce waste; I can show respect to the earth that God created by being responsible with what I have. Also, these kinds of tasks teach patience and focus in a world where we are losing our ability to function without being overstimulated. And the last thing is that I actually had a quiet moment to think of all this. Because I was squeezing limes. Just limes. Squeezing and squeezing. So many limes.

So next time you have limes to squeeze, take advantage of that quiet moment to ponder and breathe, and don’t forget to wash your hands before you touch your eyes.

Thoughts and Comments

