Green Drink Of Health

Well, now this is awkward. I know I haven’t posted in a while, so I’m not quite sure how to get back in your good graces now that I am 1) fully moved, 2) mostly unpacked, 3) and have internet service. It probably wont help me that I am posting a recipe that, though it’s super healthy and quite tasty, is green. Really green. Like, pea soup-green. It is also completely raw, and it has no meat. Already it seems as if we are off to a bad start. But please stay with me, and I will hopefully convince you of this new (to us) fad I mean phenomena of green drinks.

20130910-083512.jpg

We have alway liked green juices, so I had been waiting till we bought a juicer to try squish vegetables into a drinkable form. But recently, some good friends introduced us to a blended version that they had begun to use on a regular basis. It’s great as breakfast, a snack, a meal substitution, or even for drinking right BEFORE dinner so that you are already somewhat full, and end up eating less. Brilliant, huh? Also, it was pointed out to me that with a blender rather than a juicer, you ingest important fiber that you would otherwise toss. Also, brilliant.
20130910-083438.jpg

Our friends actually brought this recipe to their physician to be analyzed, and he concluded that it was nutritionally sufficient for healthy survival with the addition of nuts and maybe some protein. Needless to say anything more than that, it’s pretty fantastic for you. Both my husband and I have really felt the benefits after adding it to our diet, and really can’t stop talking about it.
20130910-083454.jpg

Pricewise, it is extremely affordable. The avocados and spinach are the most expensive aspects of this, and those can be eliminated if need be; but overall it costs about $20 for enough to last us two weeks (10-12 blender batches, about three servings each). Also, Costco has great prices on spinach; I think we will save the $50 membership fee in buying spinach alone.
20130910-083521.jpg

We’ve made a couple tweaks to the original recipe, but not by much. I usually blend my kale up ahead of time with a bit of juice, and freeze it in muffin tins for a single serving. Either fresh or frozen works.

– 1 green apple, chopped
– 1/2 avocado
– 1 stalk celery, chopped
– 1 lime/lime’s juice
– 1-2 large kale leaves, chopped
– 2 handfuls baby spinach
– Approx 2+ cups grapefruit/orange juice
– 1-2 Tbl honey, or other sweetener to taste
– Water, if needed

Stuff everything into a quart blender, and blend away. Once everything is incorporated, add extra spinach or water or juice as necessary to fill to the top. Let blend for at least 1-2 minutes on high for the texture to get extra smooth.

You can serve immediately, but it’s best after it has chilled for a couple hours.

20130910-083530.jpg

9 responses to “Green Drink Of Health

  1. I have looked and looked but can’t find kale in Sicily! Oh well, everything else in this recipe is easy to find there, and I think my family would love it. Thanks for sharing!

    beccagarber.com

  2. Glad you are back and blogging! I am excited that you didn’t use a special juicer machine for this since I don’t have one. But I do have a blender.

    • Thanks! Yeah, I was tempted to buy one just for this; but now that I say that out loud, it sounds expensive and ridiculous. The blender works great, and we like it smooth so we just let it run for a really long time. Hope you enjoy it!

  3. Those look SO GOOD but I’ve been looking for one with protein. Have you tried adding protein into it? Does it change it much? Sometimes, I swear protein ruins EVERYTHING. haha!!

    • Thanks, they are good! I’ve never tried adding protein; I kind of agree with you that protein powder or whatnot ruins things. Honestly, I would rather eat a handful of almonds every day! But I’d try adding ground flax seed; it’s super good for you, and shouldn’t change the taste too much. Hope it helps!

  4. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your
    blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more
    pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Superb work!

Thoughts and Comments

