Off and Away

Flight

Contrary to what I can even fathom right now, we are only hours away from leaving for our first anniversary trip/honeymoon to the grand continent of Europe! We will soon be well on our way to the UK and France for 8 weeks of travel, volunteering, visiting family, and study.

My husband and I have always talked about traveling through Europe for an extended period of time; we settled on a short honeymoon last year in exchange for a longer international trip around our first anniversary. Because we will be picking up our roots and moving cross-country this summer anyway, and we’ve been saving up for about five years, the next two months is the perfect time to quit everything, pack our things away in storage, and just GO.

Our itinerary isn’t too detailed, other than knowing what general cities we are going to be in. Honestly, we are so excited to just be in a new place and walk and explore. We’ll hit up a couple of the popular spots I’m sure, but for us the joy of travel comes in genuine and organic discovery. Local pubs, coffee shops, parks, and book shops are really what we are most excited about! Since we are spending a minimum of one week in each place, we are hoping to really get to know the area and the people in each small community we explore. We have both traveled internationally extensively (myself in Southeastern Asia, and my husband in the Middle East), but this is our first time to the UK (where they speak English!).

(All photos below are from wikipedia)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The first leg of our journey will be an 11-hour layover in Reykjavik, Iceland, where we can leave the airport for the day and explore. The next will be in London, and that will be followed by three weeks volunteering on an organic farm in northern England. After tending sheep and gardening for month, we’ll take the train up to Scotland to visit my cousin and her family. Then, a train will take us south, under the channel, to Strasbourg, France where my husband will be attending an apologetics academy for two weeks at the university there. I’ll get to bum around the city by myself (tough, I know). Our last couple days will be in Paris, because of course if we are in France, we have to go to Paris.

Because I don’t know what kind of internet access we will have throughout the trip, I will probably take a hiatus from actual substantial posts over the summer. So though I’m going to say a temporary farewell now, I promise I will do my best to post pictures and quick updates about the trip as we go along! (If you have any recommendations for food, sites to see, or otherwise, please let me know in a comment or email!)

See you on the other side.

Thoughts and Comments

