Year One

Tia Tyler-0634

Love bade me welcome, yet my soul drew back,
Guilty of dust and sin.
But quick-ey’d Love, observing me grow slack
From my first entrance in,
Drew nearer to me, sweetly questioning
If I lack’d anything.

“A guest,” I answer’d, “worthy to be here”;
Love said, “You shall be he.”
“I, the unkind, the ungrateful? ah my dear,
I cannot look on thee.”
Love took my hand and smiling did reply,
“Who made the eyes but I?”

“Truth, Lord, but I have marr’d them; let my shame
Go where it doth deserve.”
“And know you not,” says Love, “who bore the blame?”
“My dear, then I will serve.”
“You must sit down,” says Love, “and taste my meat.”
So I did sit and eat.
— George Herbert

Yesterday marked my husband and I’s first year wedding anniversary, and I cannot believe that year one is complete. 365 days sounds so long on paper, but when life is being lived with people you love, time seems to stand still and fly by both at the same time. The poem above is one that we worked to memorize together while engaged, as a reminder of the undeserving Love that God has for us and how our love should reflect that (however imperfect it is!).

Below are a few beautiful photos from our wedding taken by Rebekah J. Murray. She is incredibly talented and was so amazing to work with! I love every single one of the 770 photos she took for us, so it was hard to pick just a few; click on each image for a larger view. (Also, keep reading for a great tip for freezing your wedding cake!)

Tia Tyler-0628

Tia Tyler-0665Tia Tyler-0741Tia Tyler-0766

Tia Tyler-0538Tia Tyler-0609We were excited to see that when we opened up our cake, it was still delightfully appetizing! If you want to freeze your cake, make sure to do the following:

1) Make sure to remove any fresh flowers from the top. Simple I know, but trust me; it’s been forgotten before.

2) Wrap the cake in a layer of parchment or wax paper.

3) Wrap that in two layers of foil, and place it into a ziplock bag.

4) Wait a year! Then remove from the freezer and remove the layers.

5) Re-wrap the cake in a layer of parchment/wax paper, then a layer of plastic wrap, and place in the refrigerator overnight.

6) Remove from refrigerator and let come to room temperature.

7) Enjoy your memories without the freezerburn!

20130527-212728.jpg

4 responses to “Year One

  1. Congrats on your first year! I’m engaged and so excited to become husband and wife with my fiance in a year. My friend also just got married this weekend and she needed to figure out how to properly store her cake top to save till next year – this post came in good timing!

    • Thanks, and congratulations to you too!! No matter what anyone tells you, marriage is amazing and I highly recommend it ;). And I’m so glad it was helpful… When we took our cake out of the freezer, I was SO happy to see that my friends had done it right haha; we were already off and away by the time they did all the cleanup, so I was worried it might not have made it!

Thoughts and Comments

