Leftover Fried Rice

20130501-170128.jpg

Easy dinners are a blessing from above. After work, I always feel somewhat rushed to get food ready; not just for my husband, but also just because I’m usually famished. Leftovers are a common go-to, but it’s nice to change it up every now and then.

20130501-170048.jpg

Fried rice is an easy concept and you can use pretty much any combination of meat and/or veggies. It’s also a great way to get rid of smaller portions of leftovers or make portions of meat stretch a bit longer.

20130501-170058.jpg

As much as I hate to admit it, I sometimes like convenient things. And as much as I love fresh garlic and will ALWAYS use it if I have the time and a fresh clove, I sometimes use stuff like this. I know it’s stupid, but I am trying to be okay with my hands smelling like garlic for three days after I handle it. For some reason it drives me crazy, no matter how much I wash and scrub my hands, and it doesn’t seem to go away. I’ve tried everything from lemon peel to rubbing my hands on a stainless steel utensil. Any tips that you have found to help?

20130501-170105.jpg

You can use any kind of vegetables; as you can see in the photo, I had a couple cans of veggies in my pantry, and used some leftover rice from the night before. When you buy canned goods, make sure you check the ingredient labels to be sure that they are not processed with preservatives or other hidden sugars.

20130501-170111.jpg

If you’re using canned veggies and leftover meat, you simply need to warm up everything when you toss it together. If you use anything raw, you can saute it first in the pan before adding the rice.

20130501-170118.jpg

Leftover Fried Rice

– 1-2 tsp Minced garlic
– 1-2 cups leftover chicken or beef, cooked and cubed
– 1-2 cups veggies, canned or chopped and cooked
– 3-4 cups steamed rice
– 1/4 cup soy sauce

1. Saute the garlic in a bit of olive oil. Add the meat and cook till warmed through.
2. Add veggies and toss, then add rice and soy sauce. Increase heat, and make sure to scrape the bottom of the pan as you stir until it’s all combined. Serve immediately.

20130501-170128.jpg

Thoughts and Comments

