Coconut Sweet Bread

20130501-104548.jpg I have a bunch of ideas rolling around in my head right now and can’t seem to get any of them out right on paper. I’ve been thinking of what it means to make time for leisure without being slothful, being faithful in employment that you are indifferent towards (when all of society is telling you “only do what you love!” even if that means you’re broke because you’re not willing to start at an entry level position), and how the “simple life” movement has perhaps undermined the proper times and places for beauty and extravagance.

So maybe someday I will get my head together and churn out some thoughts on the above topics. But for now, I will leave you with a recipe, somewhat modified from smittenkitchen.com’s coconut bread recipe. This was also on the menu for the Mother’s Day brunch hosted by Rebecca Gallop of A Daily Something, in addition to these Goat Cheese, Bacon, and Kale Mini Quiches and Buttermilk Crepes. You can see Rebecca’s post about that brunch here!

20130501-104608.jpg This bread is perfect for breakfast or brunch; I don’t typically like my bread super sickly sweet, so the sugar is reduced in this recipe. If you would like more of a “coconut cake,” you can increase the sugar to 1 cup or more.

Coconut Sweet Bread

– 6 Tbls unsalted butter, browned and cooled
– 2 eggs
– 1 1/4 C. buttermilk
– 1/4 C. pure maple syrup
– 1 tsp vanilla
– 2 1/2 C. flour
– 1 2/3 C. sweetened shredded coconut
– 3/4 C. sugar
– 1 tsp baking powder
– 1/2 tsp cinnamon
– 1/4 tsp salt

Melt and brown butter in a small saucepan. Set aside to cool. Preheat oven to 350*.

Beat eggs, then mix in buttermilk, maple syrup, and vanilla in a small bowl. In a medium bowl, sift together flour, coconut, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Gently stir in wet ingredients, then melted butter. Be careful to not overmix.

Pour into a bread pan or muffin tins (I filled a loaf pan and had a bit left over for a mini load as well) and bake for 1 to 1 1/4 hours, until a toothpick comes out of the center clean.

20130501-104626.jpgSo this photo below is me keeping it real… I still work full time in addition to running this blog, so my evenings typically get one kitchen task, one household task, and one blog task (and sometimes only one of those three). This means I either cook OR do the dishes, wash clothes OR fold them, and knit OR write blog posts. Unfortunately, I don’t get to go to brunches with A Daily Something everyday, or bake day and night; but I love the fact that this blog keeps me intentional and inspired to push my creativity. All that is to say, there was a pretty epic pile of dishes after prepping everything for the brunch, then racing off to work. Enjoy my masterpiece.

20130501-104647.jpg

4 responses to “Coconut Sweet Bread

    • Thanks! Yes, as much as I wish life was as perfect and put together as most pictures I choose to post, there is definitely a very messy behind-the-scenes. It’s what makes life interesting I suppose!

  1. That’s the downside of amazing cooking…an amazing pile of dishes!

    “how the “simple life” movement has perhaps undermined the proper times and places for beauty and extravagance”….well said! I was just thinking of that…please, please blog about this! (I’m thinking of Babette’s Feast right now…)

    • Yes! Babette’s feast is exactly what I have been thinking about! I’m a little intimidated to broach the subject, and probably have more questions than answers at this point, but at least I want to start a conversation.

Thoughts and Comments

