Goat Cheese, Bacon, and Kale Quiche

20130414-151306.jpg

I was so blessed to be invited to a delightful brunch in celebration of and anticipation for Mother’s Day, hosted by the lovely Rebecca Gallop at A Daily Something (who coordinated and styled), Sweet Root Village (who did flowers and photography), and held at Jennifer Olmstead’s home of Deleted Space Creative. Keep your eye out for an upcoming post at A Daily Something with more pictures and brunch ideas!

I was more than happy to contribute some baked goods, including these mini quiches, Buttermilk Crepes, and Coconut Bread (loosely based on the recipe from smittenkitchen.com) which I will post to the blog very soon.

20130414-151321.jpg

I have always loved quiche, and am not opposed to the idea of the really mini quiches, but always feel like an absolute pig when I eat five of the teeny tiny half-bite-sized cups in one fell swoop. I seriously hope that those aren’t supposed to be one serving size each…

Guys sometimes say that girls eat like birds (pecking a little bit of this and that); but if that’s true, I eat more like a bald eagle attacking a 20-pound salmon from the sky, hauling it back to my nest, where I sit and tear it apart and consume it like the carnivour I am.

Anyways. All that is to say I like to use something at least as big as muffin tins for individual quiches, because 1) you can fit more egg mixture in each crust and 2) it doesn’t make me look like a starving puppy lapping up the whole plate.

20130416-113850.jpg

I made the pie crust the night before, and let it sit in the fridge. If I hadn’t been so tired, I would have rolled it out, cut out the circles, and actually placed them all in the pan in the fridge already… but alas, it was past my bedtime and I was nigh turning into a pumpkin.

Also, now you know that I was not kidding when I said I’m kind of obsessed with kale.

20130416-114349.jpg

Goat Cheese, Bacon, and Kale Quiche
Makes 24

Ingredients:
– One pie crust recipe
– 6 eggs
– 2/3 cup heavy cream
– 1 cup whole milk
– 4-5 ounces crumbled goat cheese
– 4-5 ounces shredded/food processer-ed fresh mozzarella cheese
– 2 cups chopped kale
– 4-5 strips thick Applewood smoked bacon
– Dash of pepper
– Dash of salt

1. Preheat oven to 400*. Roll out pastry dough to a 1/16th inch thickness, cut into 4 1/2 inch circles, and place in non-stick or greased muffin tins. Place in freezer or refrigerator overnight, or while prepping the filling.
2. Cook and slice the bacon, and chop the kale.
3. In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs, cream, and milk, then add cheeses, kale, bacon, salt, and pepper. (Here, you could stop, store everything in the fridge overnight and fill and cook them first thing in the morning)
4. Use a 1/4 cup measuring cup to spoon the mixture into your pastry bowls. Leave at least an 1/8 inch space from the top of the crust; they will puff up while cooking, but then settle back down when they cool.
5. Bake for about 30 minutes, till the centers are firm when jiggled, and the tops are a bit browned. You can also do a toothpick test and see if it comes out clean.

20130415-111206.jpgSneak peak of the gorgeous food table!

20130414-151427.jpg

Thoughts and Comments

