Boatneck Aran Sweater (and some big news!)

So I think most of our friends and family already know, and strangers (hi there!) probably don’t care too much, but we have some big news: we are moving to Missoula, Montana in the Fall!

My husband has decided to attend the law program at University of Montana, and will begin his 1L year there in August. It’s really kind of crazy how fast time has gone; last time I checked, it was still January and we had 5 months left, not 2. As I mentioned in a preliminary post, we will also be taking an 8-week long 1st year anniversary “honeymoon” trip to Europe in June and July, so our time here in Northern Virginia is quickly coming to an end much faster than I expected. We are both excited to go, and sad to leave; our close friends and friends-who-have-become-family are going to make it incredibly difficult to part ways. But we are excited for a new chapter of our lives to begin, and can’t wait to meet new people and have new experiences. So, if you are ever out in God’s Great Country, give me a holler! We’d love to connect with you and show you around.

20130325-091651.jpg

Despite the most recent Virginia weather, spring is coming and winter will soon be behind us. Here is a great idea for those crisp fall days that will come next year! This pattern can be a bit more time consuming since it requires a lot of attention, but it would be a good goal to set for say, end of summer. This project is definitely one that requires constant focus. I would say it is an intermediate/advanced level, and there is lots and lots of cabling. Each row is different, so the graphs need to be followed pretty closely in order to keep on track.

I used the blended Berroco Vintage Wool yarn that is 50% Acrylic/40% Wool/10% Nylon. Now, I typically would prefer something with a higher percentage of natural yarn. But this was on sale, and it was one of my first cabling projects back before I knew exactly what kind of yarn I preferred to work with. It also says it is machine washable; I haven’t dared to try washing it yet, but I’ll let you know if I do.

You can find the link to the original pattern here: http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEdf10/PATTbeatnik.php. Please post any questions you have in the comment section below and I will answer to the best of my ability!

20130325-091714.jpg

I will leave you with some pictures that I gleaned off google image of our beautiful future home state:

Copyright @ Marc Adamus

Copyright @ Ben Chase Photography

Copyright @ Marc Adamus

Breathtaking.

9 responses to “Boatneck Aran Sweater (and some big news!)

    • Thanks! It’s a little daunting, to be honest. And SO expensive. We may end up using a cart and horse if we can’t fit everything into a super cheap U-Haul…=P

  1. I was excited to hear your big news! I hope y’all really enjoy the law school experience and the wilds of Montana. Be sure to jaunt down to Yellowstone and Grand Tetons while you’re in the region! Oh, and the sweater is gorgeous too!

    • Yes, we will definitely frequent both of those! I have yet to visit the Tetons (each time I’ve visited, the pass has been snowed in), but I can’t wait to see them.

  2. I still can’t get over how clear and crisp Montana is in the pictures! Love the knitting work you are doing, looks wonderful. What kind of yarn do you prefer using?

    • Haha, yes it’s quite different than China, isn’t it??
      Thanks =) I really love working with all natural fibers (so, no acrylic/nylon/rayon etc), but my current favorite is Merino Wool (which I think you would love too… it’s not itchy at ALL). I have a new project that uses a yarn that is a mix of cotton and bamboo fibers… So that should be fun!

  3. Hi Tia, Your sweater is beautiful as your new state is beautiful. I have towel of cotton/bamboo and it is super soft, so I think you will enjoy working with that yarn. Lovely on the skin.

  4. Tia I LOVE the design of your blog! It is so beautiful and easy to read. Congrats on law school and moving to Montana! I hope you guys love it out there. Those Montanan’s are lucky to have you 🙂

Thoughts and Comments

